eclecticsouls

Words, Thoughts, Music

Tasty Tuesday

I hadn’t really gotten into eating hummus until I attended a health fair at my congregation. One of the local grocery stores have chefs that do cooking demonstrations to encourage healthy eating. Well, the chef that came made this delicious hummus and I started thinking that maybe I could really get into eating this. I got a recipe but couldn’t find all of the ingredients he used, so I improvised and added my own flare. 🙂

Hummus

5 garlic cloves, roasted in olive oil

1 15oz can garbanzo beans/chic peas

2 Tbs tahini

3 Tbs lemon juice

1 tsp soy sauce

1/2 tsp ground cumin

1/2 tsp roasted ground coriander

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper (less if you can’t handle the heat)

Toss garlic cloves in olive oil and roast in oven for 20 minutes. Let cool, then remove skins and mash garlic. Put into food processor and add beans (with liquid), tahini, lemon juice, soy sauce and seasoning. Pulse until creamy. Chill at least one hour.

Serve with fresh cut veggies and toasted pita bread.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

